Amanda Robbins

Founder & Director
Equity Economics & Development Pty Ltd
Fiscal and Social Policy Economist

Industry, Government

Amanda has over 15 years’ experience working at the most senior levels of the Australian government and international development sector. Amanda started her career with the Australian Treasury, working in the International Economy and Budget Policy groups.

Amanda also advised the Federal Treasurer, becoming the Deputy Chief of Staff to the Australian Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer, The Hon. Wayne Swan MP.  In this role Amanda lead the governments budget formulation, national health and hospital reform, development of the National Broadband Network, funding models for the National Disability and Insurance Scheme and response to the Gonski education funding recommendations.

Amanda has advised governments throughout the region, spending two years in Papua New Guniea advising on structural reform and economic governance in the PNG Treasury. More recently Amanda was Deputy Director of the Australian Indonesian Partnership for Economic Governance (AIPEG), based in Jakarta for three years. In this role Amanda managed a large team advising on a range of economic policy issues including revenue reform, trade and investment policy, budget and spending reviews and financial market policy.

Amanda is Founder and Director of Equity Economics & Development Partners, an economic consultancy firm committed to delivering more inclusive economic policy that achieves social progress. Equity Economics works with clients from the not for profit sector, peak bodies and think tanks, aiming to ensure all stakeholders have access to economic analysis and policy skills to contribute to the public policy discussion. 

Amanda holds a Bachelor of Economics (Social Science) from the University of Sydney, Diploma of Laws and Masters of Laws from the ANU and was admitted to legal practice in NSW in 2006. Amanda is currently completing a Global Executive MBA with the University of Sydney and was awarded the UN Women’s Committee scholarship.